The QFCC Advisory Council

​QFCC welcomes new Advisory Council


The Queensland Family and Child Commission (QFCC) launched its new Advisory Council on Tuesday, bringing together some of the state’s best minds in the areas of child protection and family support.

The 12 Advisory Council members along with Principal Commissioner Cheryl Vardon will help promote the shared responsibility all Queenslanders have in keeping children safe.

Members will regularly catch up to provide insight into the issues affecting children, families and the sector, and also provide guidance on the work of the QFCC.

The Honourable Shannon Fentiman MP, Minister for Communities, Women and Youth, Minister for Child Safety and Minister for Multicultural Affairs, helped launch the council on behalf of Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk and welcomed the new members.

Uncle Des Sandy delivered the Welcome to Country and children from the Nunukul Yuggera Dancers gave a wonderful performance to close out the event.

Ms Vardon said the Advisory Council had an important role to play in guiding and informing the work of the QFCC.

“I look forward to tapping into the knowledge of all council members and working on ideas to bring about change,” she said.

“The council brings together a range of passionate representatives, from those who have experienced being in care themselves to those who have led very public lives advocating for change.

“The QFCC champions the needs of all children, young people, families and communities, particularly Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples,” Ms Vardon said.

“We want to see a better Queensland where children are safe and families can thrive – and our new Advisory Council can help guide us on our path.”

Members of the QFCC Advisory Council include:

  • Ron Weatherall, Deputy Director-General, Community Participation, Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
  • Detective Chief Superintendent Cameron Harsley, Executive Director, Operations Support, Crime and Corruption Commission
  • Rachel Hunter, Chair of the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority and Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital Board
  • Hetty Johnston AM, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Bravehearts
  • Dr James Scott, Associate Professor, Conjoint Associate Professor, SOMCentral – Psychiatry – RBWH, Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Kay Ganley, Owner and CEO, Charlton Brown
  • Heather Watson, Director, McCullough Robertson
  • Professor Lesley Chenoweth AO, Professor of Social Work, School of Human Services and Social Work, Griffith University
  • Professor Clare Tilbury, Carol Peltola Research Chair, Life Without Barriers, School of Human Services and Social Work, Griffith University
  • Ben Pearce, CREATE, Youth Representative
  • Zoe Rathus AO, Senior Lecturer in Law, Griffith Law School
  • Professor Cindy Shannon, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Education), University of Queensland

Establishing the Advisory Council for the QFCC’s work was recommendation 6.3 in the Queensland Child Protection Commission of Inquiry Report.